top of page

101052 | MEXICO & GERMANY. FIFA World Cup silver Medal.

  • Details

    101052 | MEXICO & GERMANY. FIFA World Cup silver Medal. Issued 1970. Commemorating the games and the host country (60mm, 68.83 g, 12h).


    J RIMET / MЄXICO '70, the original World Cup, known then as the Jules Rimet Cup, with views of the civic hosts, along with the winning countries up to that point, listed around / AZTEKEN STADION, interior view of the Estadio Azteca, set for a soccer match. Edge: 1000.


    Choice About Uncirculated. Highly lustrous and brilliant, with some lightly scattered hairlines.


    Fourteen teams, along with defending champs England and host country Mexico, were involved in the final stage of the tournament. From among them, Uruguay, West Germany, Italy, and Brazil made it to the final four, with the latter two meeting in the championship match. In this contest, Pelé and Brazil bested their Italian counterparts easily by a score of 4-1 at Estadio Azteca before the enormous crowd of 107,412 spectators. This victory represented Brazil's third World Cup which, per rules at the time, allowed them to keep the initial Jules Rimet trophy, thus necessitating a new trophy to be created for the next World Cup in 1974. Sadly, this cup was stolen in Rio de Janeiro in 1983, never to be seen again and likely melted by the looters.


    Sorry, this item is no longer available.

bottom of page